CCDA® Cisco Certified Design Associate

Interested in designing networks from a big picture vantage point? CCDA certification is the first step in envisioning and building complex networks
Nov 27 - admin

Interested in designing networks from a big picture vantage point? LAN, WAN, and broadband access are some of the focus areas for a CCDA certification which is the first step in envisioning and building these complex systems.

The CCDA certification (Cisco Certified Design Associate) is Cisco’s foundation-level network design certification. Candidates who successfully gain CCDA accreditation should be able to design routed and switched network infrastructures and services involving LAN, WAN, and broadband access for businesses and organizations. For individuals wishing to demonstrate knowledge of network design suitable for small and medium sized businesses, the CCDA certification is a good endorsement of those skills.

A CCDA® certified person can:
  • define the Network design principles for a Network design solution.
  • design the Enterprise Campus in an architectural approach.
  • design Enterprise Wan network.
  • design Network addressing.
  • choose the most proper directing protocols for the Network.
  • determine the Network solutions for the Network.
  • determine the design methods about voice tranmission over the Network.
  • choose the Network management softwares for the Network.
To obtain CCDA certification a candidate needs only to pass one exam, 640-863 DESGN (Designing for Cisco Internetwork Solutions Exam). The exam can be taken at any Pearson VUE testing centre.


While there are no prerequisites for taking the CCDA exam, Cisco recommends that candidates have CCNA-level and BCMSN-level knowledge before attempting the exam. The CCDA certification itself is a prerequisite (along with the CCNA) for the more advanced CCDP certification.

The CCDA certification is valid for a period of three years after which time recertification is required if an individual wishes to remain CCDA certified. To recertify, a candidate must pass the applicable current CCDA exam, or any of the ‘642’ professional level or Cisco Specialist exams. Alternatively, a CCDA candidate can opt to pass any current CCIE written exam to remain qualified.

As with other Cisco exams, candidates taking the CCDA exam are not permitted to go back through their answers during the exam. Candidates must answer each question before moving to the next question so marking questions for later review, or skipping answers with the intention to return later is not permitted.